8/12/2020
20:00, Online
Registration

Drawing Secrets

Esoteric Images in Hebrew illuminated Manuscripts

The talk by the Israeli art historian Sara Offenberg will illuminate the reflection of esoteric ideas in Hebrew illuminated manuscripts from thirteenth century Ashkenaz (German lands), with a focus on images of knights and Ezekiel’s vision of the divine Chariot.

It examines the texts and the images in Mahzorim (Prayer books) and Masoretic Bibles in conjunction with military history, in order to provide a comprehensive description concerned with the ideas of the Hekhalot literature and two principal esoteric traditions in Ashkenaz: Hasidei Ashkenaz (German Pietists) and Rabbi Nehemiah, the Prophet from Erfurt.















Jews adopted well-known Christian symbols of high social rank and added inner esoteric meaning; this self-identification elevated their status, even if only in their own eyes, and it informs us as to how they viewed their surrounding society and themselves within its social/spiritual elite. The paper seeks to understand how the Jewish patrons envisioned themselves and their neighbors, through a prism of images and textual esoteric traditions.

The event will be held in English with simultaneous Russian translation.

Register for the online event for free

  • January
  • February
  • March
  • April
  • May
  • June
  • July
  • August
  • September
  • October
  • November
  • December
  • 2008
  • 2009
  • 2010
  • 2011
  • 2012
  • 2013
  • 2014
  • 2015
  • 2016
  • 2017
  • 2018
  • 2019
  • 2020

Archive of events

8/12/2020
20:00, Онлайн
Регистрация

Изображая тайну

Эзотерические иллюстрации в книгах средневековых евреев

Израильский профессор искусствоведения Сара Оффенберг рассказывает об отражении эзотерических идей в еврейских иллюминированных рукописях из средневековой Германии, уделяя особое внимание изображениям рыцарей и небесной колесницы из видения пророка Иезекииля.

Тексты и изображения из молитвенников и масоретских списков Библии XIII в. рассматриваются в контексте истории военного дела, а также в связи с мистической литературой небесных чертогов (хехалот) и двумя главными школами еврейской мистики в средневековой Германии – германскими хасидами (хасидей ашкеназ) и кругом рабби Нехемии-пророка из Эрфурта.















Евреи наделили известные христианские символы высокого социального статуса своим эзотерическим смыслом. Это давало им возможность ощущать себя духовной элитой и культивировать особое отношение к окружающему обществу. На основе анализа визуальных и текстуальных источников можно сделать несколько важных выводов о том, как еврейские заказчики иллюминированных рукописей видели себя и своих соседей.

Лекция на английском языке с синхронным переводом на русский.

Зарегистрироваться на онлайн-событие (бесплатно)

  • Январь
  • Февраль
  • Март
  • Апрель
  • Май
  • Июнь
  • Июль
  • Август
  • Сентябрь
  • Октябрь
  • Ноябрь
  • Декабрь
  • 2008
  • 2009
  • 2010
  • 2011
  • 2012
  • 2013
  • 2014
  • 2015
  • 2016
  • 2017
  • 2018
  • 2019
  • 2020

АРХИВ СОБЫТИЙ